My professional growth and development as a trainee teacher


 

 

Development is a continuous cycle and I realized if I will teach only that which I have learnt in coming years then I will be a teacher with only one year experience, but if I learn for the rest of my life then I will become an even better teacher. Therefore, I should seize any opportunity I get to develop myself. It is not all about having one method or group of ideas, or preparing material, getting paid and teaching what I know. It is more about renewing things, adding creative elements, and sometimes taking risks. I will keep my self up to date with whatever I consider to be beneficial to a teacher who seeks development and innovation. I will do this by reading journals, attending conferences and seminars, consulting books, and maintaining contact with other teachers.Last but not least, the people I worked with, my tutor, observers and colleagues, opened my eyes to the many aspects of teaching and were very supportive people who encouraged me and provided me with rich feedback. Their unlimited support saved me time, raised my self-confidence, and improved my performance.Gower et al. (2005) highlight the importance of collaboration between fellow trainees to get over problems, since teamwork is more important than competition. We learnt from each other how to be patient, hard working, committed, well–organized, and creative. We instantly began working as a team, meeting to discuss our parts,practicing, giving feedback, suggesting ideas, motivating, and supporting each other,arranging the classroom, setting up equipment, distributing books and dictionaries,and playing the role of learners. These times will never vanish from my memory.

Last but not least, the people I worked with, my tutor, observers and colleagues, opened my eyes to the many aspects of teaching and were very supportive people who encouraged me and provided me with rich feedback. Their unlimited support saved me time, raised my self-confidence, and improved my performance.Gower et al. (2005) highlight the importance of collaboration between fellow trainees to get over problems, since teamwork is more important than competition. We learnt from each other how to be patient, hard working, committed, well–organized, and creative. We instantly began working as a team, meeting to discuss our parts,practicing, giving feedback, suggesting ideas, motivating, and supporting each other,arranging the classroom, setting up equipment, distributing books and dictionaries,and playing the role of learners. These times will never vanish from my memory.

Leave a Reply

