The importance of observation for my progress


 

 

Teaching English

 

I benefited a lot from observing a teacher at an institute in the first semester, aswell visiting Colchester to experience teaching English to refugees, as this allowed me to carefully examine every aspect of the teachers’ classes. I also benefited from their ideas, teaching methods and lessons, which were full of interesting aspects. I was able to take notes and observe my fellow teachers, having the chance three times to participate as a student. I loved to play this role as it enabled me to enrich my experience and put myself in their shoes. It helped me to figure out what makes agood language teacher and what makes learners interact better in the classroom. One area that I was interested in is establishing the rapport with students as a very important factor that shows teacher as a member of the class not the centre of it. This is not for the learners’ benefit only but the teachers as well to take away some of the pressure from their shoulders and to run the class smoothly. I learnt how to forget all about being shy and speaking with a trembling voice, as I used to be sometimes when giving a presentation. Instead, I want to be confident and give my all in every lesson and learn as well, regardless of my sickness during this semester. I noticed my colleagues as well when they began to smile and release some of their tension in their lessons, I felt more secure as a student. So I realized that my students would be able to accept me as teacher if I show them respect, patience and helpfulness. Some teachers just deliver their lesson normally, and some have fun and share experiences. Others keep their distance from the learners. These were all aspects we had the chance to discuss at our last feedback meeting. So, trusting students’ abilities and respecting them is an important thing, as they will trust and respect the teacher as well (Harmer,2007). Some teachers think that their students are not good enough because they do not have a good command of language, which is not always true. I consider the stage they are at and treat them as really clever students who are experienced and rich with knowledge, encouraging them to share this in the class. I love listening to students carefully. To illustrate, in my first lesson about inspirational people I designed activity as lead into the lesson . I asked students to look at six figures and arrange them according to who is the most inspirational person according to their point of view. I loved that lesson because all of the class were engaged talking about these famous people and I was surprised as one of Korean student chose the author of the book ” Last Lecture ” and was talking to her pair about him. I found that interesting to share her knowledge with the class since she read the book and found that person very inspirational. To facilitate her ability to speak fluently without begins I asked her some questions about it such as if she read in her mother tongue and had a chance to ask more questions which really aroused the interest among others .Another student chose the man without arm and legs and shared her thoughts about how being disabled does not make ones life stop instead it creates more chance to be successful. I found that personal dimensions encouraged students to speak and share their inspirational words. I was glad when they overcame their language barriers toshare ideas.

Leave a comment